Celebrating Diwali

Diwali is an Indian festival, celebrated by many all over the world, symbolising the spiritual ‘victory of light over darkness, good over evil, and knowledge over ignorance’. The festival is celebrated over five days, often with long parties into the night and streets being lit up by diyas—cup-shaped, clay oil lamps—lanterns and candles.

Diwali is also referred to as the ‘Festival of Lights’ with each day recognising different religious significance. Below you will find a list of all five days of Diwali, with their names, religious importance and how many choose to celebrate.

We would like to wish all those celebrating a safe and happy Diwali.

The five days of Diwali

First day

Day 1 Dhanteras 16 9

Marking the beginning of the festivities is Dhanteras. It is believed that on this day the Hindu god of medicine, Dhanvantari, came out of the ocean to gift the science of medicine. This is considered to be an extremely auspicious day for making new purchases, especially of gold or silver and new utensils. In the evening children light crackers and earthen lamps are lit outside homes.

Second day

Day 2 Diwali 16 9

The second day of Diwali is Kali Chaudas or Narak Chaturdasi. It is believed that Lord Krishna destroyed the demon Narakasur, freeing the world from fear. It is custom not to light diyas or step out on this day, and rather stay at home and relax so that Diwali can be celebrated with utmost vigor and devotion.

Third day

Day 3 Diwali 16 9

This day is Diwali—where Goddess Lakshmi is worshipped, along with Lord Ganesha, the god of beginnings. Diyas and candles are lit in homes and the streets of India are decorated with millions of sparklers, crackers and fairy lights.

Fourth day

Day 4 Diwali 16 9

The fourth day is celebrated in various forms all across India. In the Western states, this day is celebrated with great pomp and marked as Bestu Varas, New Year. In the Northern states, this day is celebrated as Govardhan Puja, which devotees prepare and offer a large variety of vegetarian food to God as a mark of gratitude.

Fifth day

Day 5 Bhai Dooj 16 9

The fifth day of Diwali celebrations is observed as the Bhai Dooj and celebrates the sibling bond between brother and sister. It is customary for brothers to visit their sisters on this day to celebrate and sisters will prepare sweets in honour of their brothers, wishing them great success and a long, happy, healthy life.


Was this page useful to you?

Share this page